Ex- Bauchi gov Yuguda, associates join Green Party

A former governor of Bauchi State, Malam Isa Yuguda and his supporters, including a one-time National Organising Secretary of the PDP, Alhaji Umaru Dahiru, have joined the Green Party of Nigeria (GPN)‎.

Others who followed Yuguda to his new political abode included a former minister,‎ Alhaji Habibu Aliyu and his former commissioners and campaign directors across the state.

Speaking to journalists in Bauchi, yesterday, Yuguda’s spokesman and former Commissioner for Information, Alhaji Salisu Ahmed Barau, said the former governor announced his decision to join GPN at a meeting held in Jos, on Saturday.

“At that meeting, Malam Isa Yuguda announced to the people that based on the recommendations of a committee set up to assess the viability of any political party that he may join, he finally settled for the  Green Party of Nigeria,” he said.

He said the Jos meeting was held after series of consultations with Yuguda’s supporters in Bauchi and other places across the country.

“The series of consultations across the spectrum of supporters, elders, youths, women and others gave room to what transpired in Jos.

“We held series of meetings in Jos and Abuja where we came face to face with all the political parties. A consensus was reached which gave birth to our meeting in Jos yesterday,” he added.

The former commissioner said that Yuguda’s exit from the PDP gave rise to a lot of politicking and realignment with a view to finding a political solution to issues in Nigeria and Bauchi State in particular.

It is not yet clear whether the ex-Bauchi governor will vie for the presidency under his new political party

Yuguda as member of the PDP had served as Minister of Aviation under former President Olusegun Obasanjo and as governor for two terms also on the platform of the party.

He briefly left the PDP for the defunct ANPP in the run-up to the 2007 general elections after he was denied the governorship ticket of the party. Yuguda, however, returned to the PDP shortly after he was elected on the platform of the ANPP.

In 2015, his dream of going to the Senate under the PDP was shattered when he was defeated by Malam Ali Wakili of the APC.